Joanne Gilbert

This is a 1953 Lydia Lane article where actress Joanne Gilbert talks about fashion and lipsticks. Enjoy!

Joanne Gilbert is one of Hollywood’s Cinderella girls. A few months ago she was a model, and today she is under contract and has a pile of offers from night clubs. How did it all begin? I asked Joanne as we sat in her dressing room the other after-goon on the Red Garters set at Paramount. The Mocambo here in Hollywood had one week that wasn’t filled so they decided to let me make my night club debut with them. I was rehearsing with the orchestra when Mr. Morrison, the owner of the night club, said he didn’t like my costume.”

“I was wearing black sequin slacks and a white blouse because it was easy to dance in. But a few hours before I was to go on they took the scissors and whacked my trousers until they became very short shorts. Your costume has had favorable publicity. Joanne smiled, Yes, it was something different and caused quite a bit of comment.” We chatted about the importance of appearance and Joanne confessed that training as a model had been wonderful experience.

WHAT IS THE most important thing being a model has taught you? I asked. A feeling for clothes, she said. It makes you look for simple basic lines and good fabrics. But some of my most admired costumes have not been expensive. If you know what to look for you don’t have to pay exorbitant prices. The important point, Joanne continued, is for the clothes to be becoming to you. Some people feel if they pay a lot for a high-style dress it has to be impressive, but this isn’t true.” “How do you feel a person should go about learning how to dress?” I asked.

“If you are not sure of yourself, consult people whose taste you admire. Learn from them. Study every well-dressed woman and try to analyze her secret. I am a black and white girl myself. Simplifying my colors I have no accessory problem but sometimes I have a change of mood with colored shoes, jewelry and lipsticks.” “I collect lipsticks,” Joanne confided. They are such an inexpensive and effective way of making yourself look different, I have all, the colors from coral pinks to true reds. I think it’s so easy to get into a rut with your hairdo and make-up but people will never get tired of looking at you when you make subtle but constant changes.”

Leave a comment