Gail Kobe

This is a 1966 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

“It is a big mistake to cling to a false image,” said Gail Kobe, one of the Peyton Place players. “I am only five three, and the high fashion designs I would like to wear are too overpowering. I have learned to leave the tunics and empire designs to the tall girls. “Proportions mean a lot, and the best part is you can change them according to your wishes. For instance, I  I went on a program to correct what I didn’t like about my figure. Exercising 20 minutes every day helped a lot, but a great deal can. be accomplished with one well chosen routine.

“It is important to begin by stretching your muscles. I reach for the ceiling and flop over ragdoll fashion, keeping straight knees. I stretch out my arms, putting my right hand on top of my. left and I come up slowly. I use the pressure in my hands to act as resistance. Be sure to breathe regularly as you do this. “When I am upright I raise my arms above my still Eushing up forcefully, and end first to one side and then the other.

“If your time is limited and you have but a few minutes to give for exercising, this one exercise repeated five times tones many muscles. You should feel a stretch in the back of your legs, at your waistline and in your arms. If you hold your stomach muscles in, they get a too. The act of coming up slowly limbers your spine, and the deep breathing stimulates circulation.”

Leave a comment