Carol Burnett – Take two

This is a 1966 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

Carol Burnett feels that an ounce of individuality is worth a pound of beauty. “Look how far a a Streisand has gone! In New York the girls are trying to copy her.

When Barbra was growing up she suffered because she didn’t look like cover girls,” said Carol, who will star in a CBS-TV special Tuesday. When you are in high school, having regular features seems the most important thing in the world. I was unhappy about my face,” Carol laughed as she sipped her tea. “When I saw my first TV appearance I tried to make my mouth smaller. Now I know its part of my individuality.

I did change the line of my eyebrows by training them to go in a point They used to grow down and this made me look sad. I always wear bangs because my face is long. I try to keep a good skin because I look best without make-up, and I have learned to accent my eyes which are my best feature.” Carol is enthusiastic about a new type of false eyelashes that are so natural you can fool your best friend. i “The trick is that you place them on the underside of your lid so that even when you look down, they do not show. I prefer mine in a color of brown to black.”The very dark ones made my face look hard.”

“Lydia, I don’t think enough attention is given to brushing teeth. It is more important than the dentifrice. I have not had a cavity in seven years. When I was seven, I went to the dentist for the first time, and he found seven cavities, so you see I don’t have naturally strong teeth. But I brush every time after eating.

It’s those little particles left between your teeth that start trouble. I carry a brush in my purse and have a collection of them at home because I don’t like to reuse a toothbrush until it is dry. The choice of brush and the way you brush are important If you are in doubt consult your dentist. “There is no one Carol concluded, “that contributes more to your good looks and good health than strong clean teeth.” 

Leave a comment