Dorothy Loudon

This is a 1966 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

“It is very depressing to have to let out your clothes,” Dorothy Loudon said pointing to a a sewing machine in the corner of her dressing room at the Huntington Hartford theater. “I was never overweight until I went on tour with the company of . It is very difficult to eat properly when you are on the road.

In New York I keep my refrigerator stocked with non fattening goodies. But after theater dinners and eating from boredom have been my downfall. “Do you know any good diets?” Dorothy asked me. “You can lose weight much faster if you can limit your calories and still eat foods that appeal to you.” “Sunday is the day I don’t work. What about a one-day diet?” “I’ll mail you one which is designed for four days but can effectively be used one day.”

Monday afternoon Dorothy was on the phone in a jubilant mood. “I can’t believe it. I am three pounds lighter. And I wasn’t hungry at all. I and going steady with this diet for enough Sundays to get back to normal. Instead of dreading having to go on a diet, I find this one very pleasant. I had a restful day in my room and whenever I felt hungry I ate something.” The diet that Miss Loudon found so appealing consists of all the unpeeled apples and all the jack cheese you wish to eat. The only hardship is that your liquids must be limited to eight ounces. This can be in the form of tea, coffee or just plain water, but unless you observe this restriction, the diet will not work.

Leave a comment