Lucy Marlow

This is a 1954 Lydia Lane article where acress Lucy Marlow talks about grooming for summer. Enjoy!

Lucy Marlow 1

Lucy Marlow recently won a contract at Warners, and for her first part she was chosen to play a starlet in Judy Garland’s “A Star is Born.” “I’ve always had a dream of being in pictures,” Lucy told me as we lunched in Warner’s Green room. “But it’s turned out to be a lot easier than I thought it would be. Lots of girls have studied for years without having anything happen. I guess I was just lucky that the right man happened to see me when was at the Playhouse in Pasadena.” It was a hot day in the valley and Lucy was wearing a strapless sun dress which showed off a smooth, even tan.

“We have a house at Malibu,” she confided, “and I spend a lot of time in the sun. But I’ve leaned the hard way that your skin looks awful if you don’t do something to protect it. I used sit on the beach and try to see how dark I could get but after a summer of this I was shock ed the way I looked.” I told Lucy, who is just out of her teens, that she was lucky to have discovered this when she was still young. We chatted about sun tan preparations and Lucy confided that she liked a lotion better that oil. “Lotion not greasy and doesn’t get all over the place but it does keep you from burning or getting all dried out,” she said. “Then before I take my shower,” Lucy continued, “I like to rub my whole body with cold cream. Just enough of this stays on afterwards so that you don’t feel itchy or dry. And my legs don’t get that ugly white scale anymore.

“One thing I hate to see,” Lucy added, “is a girl in a bathing suit when her body should be covered up instead of displayed. I think one who likes to enjoy beaches or pools should have enough pride to be well groomed. A girl should see that her legs and under arms are nicely shaved, that her toes and  fingernails are well manicured, and she should make sure that she is not bunging out of her suit.” “I asked Lucy if she had ever had a weight problem. “I wouldn’t call it a problem because as soon as I get heavier than I like to cut down,” Lucy confessed. “But I think the easiest thing in the world to do is to eat yourself out of shape.” “I take it that you like fattening things,” I commented. “Who doesn’t,” she said. “Put if you are going to eat your cake you should stay away from abbreviated bathing suits.”

Leave a comment