Shelley Winters

This is a 1952 Lydia Lane article, where actress Shelley Winters talks about how it’s important to keep your individuality and not to be a victim of fashion trends. Enjoy!

Shelley Winters does not always look like a movie star. When I had luncheon with her at Universal-International she was without lipstick and was wearing slacks and a crew neck sweater. “I’ve just come from a workout in the gym,” Shelley said, explaining her costume. “I have to lose nine pounds before I start my next picture. It’s the spaghetti that I cook three times a day for Gas (Vittorio Gassman is her Italian bridegroom) and it’s good, too.” SHELLEY ADMIRED the suit I was wearing and asked me where it had come from. “I suppose I should have dressed up for you,” she said pensively, “but I thought it was better to come like this than to keep you waiting.”

“Do you consider appearance very important?” I asked. “No. I don’t like being too preoccupied with beauty,” she said. “I think you can become a very dull person when too much time is spent on ‘the exterior. I know that I’ve been criticized for not caring enough how I look. But there are so many interesting things to spend my time, on that I try to simplify the beauty business. “I think the biggest beauty secret a person can have is to hold on to her individuality,” she continued. “When I first came to Hollywood I made my hair pink, painted my lips the shape of Rita Hayworth’s and was so busy looking like a movie queen I lost all my personality. Then I realized that I would never make the grade on beauty but if I worked hard enough and became a good actress with wonderful parts.”

Shelley shouted across the room to Dan Daily, who was leaving, that her haircut was shorter than his. “I cut my hair,” she told me, “before all this talk about the poodle. In New York they called it the Shell cut. I never liked the way the studio dressed my hair so I said, ‘I have a natural curl so cut it short enough to fall into ringlets. MISS WINTERS emphasized the importance of a becoming coiffure. “The way you wear your hair,” she said, “can help to balance your face – that’s why I like mine smooth at the temples.”

I asked the Academy Award winner if she had found it helpful to see herself on the screen. “It teaches you a’ lot,” Shelley commented, “especially about clothes. I’ve found the important thing is what the dress does to your body and your body to the dress. Many people make the mistake of following fashion instead of sticking with what is good for them.” I wanted to know what she ‘considered her greatest weakness. “Lack of tact,” Shelley said forcefully. “I have great impatience with people when I feel they are laying down on their job. I want people to come right out and tell me what they think about me but I’ve; made a lot of enemies by being too frank.” Shelley laughed, “I guess I’ll never change too much but I’m trying to remember what a producer once told me – ‘you’ll catch more flies with sugar.’ ”

“I’VE SOMETHING else I’m working on,” Shelley added enthusiastically. “That is learning to leave enough time to dress. It’s rushing that is the cause of bad .grooming. The public feels that a star should always look as if she has just stepped out of her dressing room. I’ve worked very hard very hard. For two years I had no social life be cause every night except Sunday I studied in Charles Laughton’s class. People don’t understand that when I’m not working I like to relax.”

“What’s your favorite makeup?” “I don’t like a lot of make-up but I never go out without curling my lashes and darkening them with mascara.” Shelley’s skin is clear with a baby fine texture and when I admired it she said with pride, “I’ve never had a pimple. I’m lucky, but I think keeping your skin scrupulously clean helps.” “What’s your favorite cosmetic?” I wanted to know. “I’m crazy about hair oil,” Shelley said. “And I like perfume and cologne. I pour good cologne in my hand and splash it all over my body after a shower. I’m so glad I can afford to wear expensive perfume every day,” Shelley added with a grin. “I can remember when I had to save up to buy a little bottle and kept it for important occasions.” “What’s your formula for success?” I asked Shelley in parting. “Not being afraid. The most destructive thing in life is fear. Do everything you can to build self confidence,” Shelley said seriously.

Leave a comment