Sandra Dee – Take three

This is a 1964 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

“Just today, I’ve had seven wardrobe changes!” Sandra Dee’s eyes sparkled as she showed me some of the clothes Jean Louis had designed for “I’d Rather Be Rich.” “I play a girl who can afford anything,” Sandra said, “and even the lounging robes are dreamy.” Sandra was a teen model in New York and has been as i conscious a long time.

“There Is a big difference between being a clothes horse and having personal style,” she told me, “and if you follow fashion blindly, you’ll lever make a best-dressed list. What you wear has to have an individual stamp. something new comes in some people find it hard to accept it, but if you don’t try. high fashion, you won’t know what you can and cannot wear,” she explained. Now that Sandra is likely to be photographed whenever she goes out, she is doubly careful that her clothes are becoming.

“I have a trial run when I am in doubt about a dress, because 1 know if I go somewhere and it turns out to be a mistake, my evening is ruined. It is amazing how some little change can make the difference, and it is these things I like to find out about my clothes with friends or just Bobby.” Sandra’s husband is singer Bobby Darin.

Another fashion lesson that Sandra has learned is that you cannot be assured that the dress will be right because it is expensive. “You can’t judge the person by his income any more than you can judge the worth of a dress by its price,” she said. “When a girl can afford to pay a lot for a dress, she sometimes makes this mistake. Fortunately, my mother has impeccable taste and was helpful in teaching me not to be impressed by the wrong things.” Sandra puts every costume to a double test. “What does it do for me?” “Is it feminine?” “I love Louis and I think you can be sexy in men’s shirts when they are tight, but when you wear pants you should be careful not to look masculine.” The talk turned to being a wife and mother. “I don’t know why almost every girl tries to look older,” Sandra commented. “I didn’t listen to anybody and I suppose no one will listen to me, but if there are any kids reading this, believe me when I say the day will come when you will wish you had not been so impatient. There is plenty of time to be grownup, and you’re in the teens for only six years. Don’t try too hard to be sophisticated.

It takes time to be mature, and you only look silly when you, rush into it before you are ready.”

Leave a comment