Mary Scott

This is a 1964 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

“I want to talk about fashion because I love clothes” Mary Scott volunteered when I visited her on the Hitchcock set at CBS. “I am five-three, but I love high fashion and feel I do not have to wear those little-girl dresses.

I do have to choose styles that are properly proportioned, however. “I think you can give an impression of being taller if you don’t cut your line, hold yourself well and ‘think “Too much attention should not be given to the designer. The important thing is what the dress will do for you. Sometimes you may feel It has to be good if it is expensive, but this is not true, and the reverse doesn’t always hold. I have had some very wearable and becoming cottons with low price tags.

“Don’t forget to include your hair style in your fashion picture. -If you wear too fancy a hair-do in the daytime it detracts just as much as if you wore evening sandals with a suit. If my hair is not dressed becomingly I don’t feel at my best, even though my clothes are perfect.

“If a girl doesn’t feel she knows what is right, the only way she can ever learn is by sticking her neck out. You have to be willing to make mistakes or you can never be sure of what is’ best.”When you are in doubt about your hairstyle and wonder if it is one you want to keep, have someone take your snapshot. When you look at the photograph, you can decide right away at least I can. You have an objectivity this way that is lacking when you are facing yourself in a mirror.” 

Leave a comment