Chris Noel – Take two

This is a 1963 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

“I think a girl’s best friend is a trusty diet,” Chris Noel declared as we chatted on the set of “Soldiers in the Rain.” ‘Before I came to the Coast for this picture, I wanted to reduce. I knew I would photograph better if I was about five pounds lighter. But now I have no problem going from 115 to 110.” Chris is five-feet-six which doesn’t allow any excess poundage.

This is her “trusty” diet: “For breakfast I have orange juice with a tablespoon of gelatine powder. (This is one small package from box of gelatine.) I have a nice bowl of bran cereal with honey and skim milk. Then I take vitamin and A supplements. “I don’t have colds any more since I’ve been taking Six) units a day of vitamin and my skin problem has disappeared by taking a large vitamin A capsule.” Chris was called back to the 18, cameras, but before she left, she quickly added, “Lunch is a big salad. I am fond of shrimp and I like them tossed with romaine lettuce and yogurt dressing that I mix with tomato catsup and spices to make it taste like thousand island dressing.

I find this filling and satisfying, but sometimes I alternate with fresh fruit and cottage cheese. “Dinner is raw spinach salad with raw mushrooms and garlic-wine vinegar and olive oil dressing, and steak or roast beef with the fat cut off. I’ve worked hard to shrink my stomach, and now on this diet I’m never hungry.” 

Leave a comment