Veronica Cartwright

This is a 1966 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

The frontier clothes Veronica Cartwright wears in the NBC-TV Daniel Boone series are not very figure revealing. “You would think I could gain a few pounds and keep it a she told me, “but every extra pound I put on shows right away. She put her hand under her chin. “The cameraman knows every time I’ve had a hot fudge sundae. That’s my idea of heaven to get lost in an ice cream parlor but I am 5-feet-4 and have to be a calorie watcher.” Veronica showed me her favorite chin-firming exercise. She threw her head back and looked at the dining room ceiling and began to chew an enormous wad of imaginary chewing gum.

“But I have to diet at the same time to get rid of those fat deposits. “Dieting is such an individual thing. Some people can drop extra pounds right away, but I have to be patient. It takes me two weeks to lose five pounds. The first seven days I lose nothing; it all goes the second week.

But the diet is solid, and I can always depend on it working for me “For breakfast I can have juice and coffee or tea, but I prefer a shake of half skim milk and half orange juice. And my doctor gives me vitamin supplements.

“Lunch can be cottage cheese and fruit or egg and cheese. I like shirred eggs. You bake them in the oven in a little skim milk with grated Jack cheese (white cheddar) on top. I serve this on 1 Crisp cracker that is yummy. this I like an unpeeled apple.” Vernoica eats dinner with the family, but she cuts the fat from her meat, keeps butter off her vegetables and stays away from bread, potatoes and dessert.

“If I want I can finish with half a grapefruit or cantaloupe when they are in season.”

Leave a comment