Dorothy Green

This is a 1966 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

It is a vast difference in my life since I decided to be blonde.” Dorothy Green feels she would never have been chosen for her role in Tammy, the ABCTV series, if she had remained brunette. “I wanted to change my image, to make a dramatic break with the past.

I went red but it did nothing for me; at least I felt so and that was important. “The minute I went blonde I liked it and the reaction of other people was enthusiastic. Keeping bleached hair in condition takes constant care. You have to use conditioners to prevent breakage, and you must bleach your roots before they turn dark. Maintaining the same shade week after week requires skill.” Dorothy warns against changing your color on a whim.

“Unless you have deep dissatisfaction with yourself don’t make a change. “Hair sets the key to your wardrobe and the colors you can wear in clothes and makeup. It also can set the key to your personality. Being blonde gave me a lift.

I felt more attractive and this projected. I think of myself at being a ‘natural’ blonde because I have chosen a soft shade of blonde and I bleach my eyebrows so that there is no artificial contrast. But there is no one but yourself who can decide what shade will do most for you.” 

Leave a comment