Binnie Barnes

This is a 1966 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

Binnie Barnes, who was making movies in the 1930s, doesn’t believe in growing old, but she doesn’t believe in clinging to youth, either.

“There is a way of accepting maturity gracefully,” she observed. “You can keep a young body and a young mind indefinitely if you use both of them. You have to be active physically and mentally. “I swim every day every night after I left the set of ‘The Trouble a With and when I am not working I go to a gym several times a week. We all need some form of regular exercise.” Binnie confided that she has lots of interests.

“You have to build a life outside of yourself. I feel sorry for those who allow egotism and selfishness to close them in. “About age, I pity those who struggle hang on to that ‘little girl’ look. You have to dress and act within your age limitation. A woman who has only her beauty and youth to offer panics when she sees them going.

“Accepting maturity implies an acceptance of responsibility.” She feels that today too little emphasis is put on character. Binnie discussed the need of some religion, saying “Everyone who wants to relate to reality must have a belief. “I expect to radiate when I am 90 and have a sense of humor. Nothing helps to keep you young and healthy like the ability to laugh at yourself.”

Leave a comment