Virginia Gregg

This is a 1959 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

Virginia Gregg, who plays Major Hayward in “Operation Petticoat” for U-I, wanted to be an actress ever since she began dreaming of what she would do when she grew up.. “I was quite overweight when I was younger, and I felt I couldn’t look attractive no matter what I wore. So I went to the extreme with this attitude. This can develop into a problem, because eating becomes a kind of self-defense.” Miss Gregg has a nice figure now, so I asked her how she snapped out of it. “I’m five-seven, and I seemed to grow to my full size all of a sudden and my weight was evenly distributed. But I still have a sweet tooth, and when the urge comes on me, I can sit down and eat a whole box of candy. But I’m disciplined, and this doesn’t happen too often. ” “I weigh myself every morning, and I don’t allow myself to gain more than three pounds over my normal weight.

Everyone has to work out a plan that is least painful. For me, I like to go on eating binges, and I’m prepared to accept the consequences and pay for them with privations. But if I want Mexican food or an Italian dinner, I have it.” Virginia has never considered herself a beauty, but she is one of the most active actresses in the business. “I’ve had as many as 104 bosses a year. I work practically every day, and I love it. Acting is my hobby as well as my livelihood.” I wanted to know to what she attributed her success. “I studied and worked, but I’m fortunate to have a versatile voice. This was especially helpful on radio, because I could play several parts and sound completely different. And another thing which has helped is being able to get along with people.” “What do you think makes a person difficult to get along with?” I asked. “Egotism,” she replied. “Seeing everything from your point of view without attempting to understand the other. You can’t consider yourself mature unless you are prepared to give and take.”

Leave a comment