Lee Remick

This is a 1958 Lydia Lane article. Enjoy!

One of our favorite pastimes in Hollywood is predicting who will zoom into stardom and one name on everyone’s lips is Lee Remick. The critics raved after teeing her in “The Long Hot Summer,” and 20th Century-Fox rewarded her with a starring role in “These Thousand Hills.” Lee went to school in conservative Boston, which is quite a contrast to Hollywood. I was told to be careful here or that Hollywood would try to fit me into the current standardlike a cookie from a cutter,” Lee told me. “But I really can’t complain because they didn’t change anything about me except the color of my hair. I felt I could have played the role just as effective with my natural color, light brown. As soon as this picture is over I m going to stop bleaching it. The talk turned to fashion, Lee revealed that her father had a department store and she had become clothes-conscious early in life. “I don’t adopt cause it is designed by some famous person or because someone in France issues an edict. We must strive for individuality if we want people to notice us instead of the dresses we are wear. I told Lee I had heard she was the most relaxed person on the set.

She laughed and replied: “It is true I really don’t get upset easily and my family is easygoing too I think- my father worked to keep an anti ulcer atmosphere in our home. It helped me develop a sense of values to see thing in their proper proportions and not allow trivia to be magnified. So many people blow their tops making a mountain out of a molehill.” When I asked’ Lee her most prized beauty secret she admitted It was getting plenty of sleep. I like to get more than eight hours sleep but this getting up at six-thirty.” She made a face “I try to rest as much as I can between takes I have a trailer on the set and I go there and lie down.” “Being well-rested is the secret of youthfulness” I commented. Lee was married last year but she still looks like a teen-ager. “They tell me I have a baby face and there is nothing I can do about It. Putting on a lot of make-up doesn’t help. I just look. It helped me develop a sense of like a little gin playing al being values, to see things in their grown up,” she concluded

:

Leave a comment